About Turkana



The County Government of Turkana is one of the 47 county governments formed by the County Government’s Act of 2012 of the Constitution of Kenya (2010).

The County Government is led by Governor Jeremiah Ekamais Lomorukai Napotikan and Deputy Governor Dr. John Lopeyok Erus who head the County Executive implementing development projects to benefit the people.

The County Government Headquarters is based in Lodwar Town, with offices located off Nawoitorong’ Road in Kanamkemer Ward, Turkana Central Sub County.

At 77,000 sq. km, Turkana County is the second largest county, covering more than 13% of Kenya’s surface. This vast land in the northwest of Kenya is an awakening economic giant, for beneath its surface lie huge oil deposits that are currently being explored and will see extraction in an industrial scale during the years to come – a windfall for a county with a population of slightly over 1 million.